top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrumbCoats by Ahida

Shakshuka


A breakfast meal that will save your time, doesn’t that sounds like a great start to your day. I can’t imagine grinding myself in kitchen first thing in the morning. So to ease our morning blues, today I’ll introduce a very easy Shakshuka recipe, all the way from Middle East.


To be honest, I’m not a heavy breakfast eater, so breakfast as a meal never really mattered to me. I know it is supposed to be the most important meal of the day but I could never catch the habit of needing a good breakfast to start my day. 

But, I believe you all are not the same, my whole khandaan (including extended family) on the contrary is not at all like me, they go heavy on breakfast. 

The best thing about Shakshuka is that you can always add your twist according to the supplies you have in your pantry. I’ll put down the ingredients I have used for the one I made.


Serves : 4


Ingredients: 

  • Eggs - 4 

  • Eggplant - 2 small

  • Sausage - diced/chopped 

  • Onions chopped - 1 medium

  • Garlic - 3 cloves, finely chopped

  • Tomatoes chopped - 3 or use a can of diced tomatoes

  • Cumin powder - 0.5 tsp 

  • Red chilli powder - 1 tsp 

  • Coriander powder - 0.5 tsp

  • Red chilli flakes - as per taste

  • Oregano - as per taste 

  • Salt - as per taste 

  • Black pepper - as per taste 

  • Olive oil 

  • Coriander leaves / parsley- for garnish 

Method:

  1. Stir fry the sausages or meat of your choice in a pan with olive oil, keep them aside. Vegetarian can skip this part.

  2. Stir fry the diced eggplants in the same pan with some olive oil and keep them aside.

  3. Sauté garlic and onions in the pan, you can also add bell peppers if you have, it goes really well in this dish. 

  4. Once sautéed well, add in the tomatoes and cook them well.

  5. Add all the spices and a splash of water if needed. 

  6. Toss back all the stir fried things and cook them well, season with salt and pepper accordingly. 

  7. Make four cavities in the pan and break open the eggs in each cavity, cover the pan and let it cook on low flame. You can substitute egg with fetta cheese or paneer or halloumi cheese, if you want a vegetarian option

  8. Garnish with coriander or parsley if you have. 

Serve it hot with nice Arabic bread or some nice toasted slices of bread or buns. 


You’ll love it for sure and will be making it more often. 


Hope you’ll give it a try. 

Thank you. 🖤


86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 коментар


raihana jilshad k
raihana jilshad k
13 груд. 2020 р.

I tried it.... It's tasty n I loved it...

Вподобати
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page