top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrumbCoats by Ahida

Gajar ka Halwa / Carrot Halwa


I was never a huge fan of Gajar ka Halwa when I was in Delhi, may be because it is such a hype there and is easily available everywhere. But, recently I’ve found myself enjoying the process of cooking it and eating. The carrots that we get back in Delhi during winters are completely different than the carrots I get here, hence you’ll find some difference in the colour of the end product, but there is no compromise with the taste, I assure.  I learned most of the cooking when I started living away from my family, and I really wish that they too could taste whatever I make now. I know it’s irrelevant, but missing home real bad.  Anyways, moving away from my sentimental mood, let’s get into it. Ingredients:  Grated carrots - 2 cup  Milk - 3 cup  Ghee - 1/2 cup or more if you like  Sugar - 3/4th cup  Chopped cashews - 1/4th cup  Chopped almonds - 1/4th cup  Cardamom - 3 to 4 Salt - a pinch  Method :

  1. Take milk, grated carrot and crushed cardamom in a open pan and cook on low heat till the whole milk evaporated and you are left with nice thick melted carrots. It will take time so you can opt for a cooker to make the cooking faster, but I usually make desserts for fun, so I like to be patient with it and enjoy the process. 

  2. Once the carrot is nicely cooked and reduced, heat ghee in a pan and add the chopped nuts, roast them. Make sure you don’t burn them. Then add the ghee and the nuts to the carrots.

  3. The mixture will get thick again, at this point add in your sugar, you don’t have to be exact with the sugar measurement, you can reduce or add more according to your preference. The moment you mix the sugar the mixture will release water again. 

  4. Add salt and cook the the halwa till it thickens up again. 

Serve it hot, and you’ll love it, specially when we put so much patience and and love into it.  I hope you’ll try this and enjoy with your whole family. 


Thank you 🖤

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page